1. Idukki was formed on Jan 26 ,1972.
  2. Assembly seats - 5
  3. Taluk - 5
  4. Lowest density of population.
  5. Lowest sex ratio.
  6. First total hallmark district in India.
  7. Powerhouse of kerala.
  8. Idukki is known as Spice Garden of Kerala.
  9. Idukki is the leading producer of Tea and Cardamom.
  10. Painavu is the Headquarters of Idukki.
  11. Anamudi (2625 m) is the Highest Peak in South India.
  12. Anamudi is in Munar Panchayat.
  13. Munnar is the highest town in Kerala.
  14. Munar is known as Kashmir of Kerala and Kashmir of east.
  15. Kumily is known as Entrance of Thekkady.
  16. Thekkady is the first and biggest wildlife sanctuary in Kerala(1934)
  17. Thekkady become Tiger reserve in the year 1978.
  18. Eravikulam National Park is famous for Nilgiri Tahr.
  19. Eravikulam declared as Wildlife Sanctuary in the year 1975.
  20. Eravikulam declare as national Park in the year 1978.
  21. Eravikulam National Park is in Devikulam Taluk.
  22. Eravikulam, Anamudi shola(2003), Mathikettan shola (2003)and Pampadum shola(2003) are the National Parks in Idukki.
  23. Marayoor is famous for sandalwood and Muniyaras.
  24. Idukki is the district which has largest forest area.
  25. First Neelakurinji sanctuary in India established in Idukki(2006).
  26. First Bio Village in Kerala - Udumbanoor.
  27. Thommankuthu is the major waterfall in Idukki.
  28. Idukki is the district having the largest hydroelectric power potential.
  29. Pallivasal is the oldest hydroelectric project in Kerala. It was commissioned in 1940 during the reign of Sree Chithira Thirunal.
  30. Idukki project is the biggest Hydro Electric Project in Kerala. It is built on river Periyar between the Kuravan and Kurathi Hills. It built with the help of Canada.
  31. The second Highest dam in India is Idukki.
  32. Moolamattom project is the biggest underground Hydroelectric Project in Kerala.
  33. Moolamattom is on the valley of Nadukani Hills.
  34. Famous mullaperiyar Dam is built on the river periyar at Idukki, it was commissioned in 1895, work started on 1886.
  35. Biggest Cardamom plantation in India is at Vandanmedu.
  36. Idukki the only district in Kerala produce Garlic(Vattavada).
  37. Indo-Swiss project named Cattle and Fodder Development Project is at Mattupetty(1963).
  38. Thodupuzha is the only municipality in Idukki.
  39. Grizzed giant squirrel can be seen in Chinnar sanctuary.
  40. Indian star tortoises are seen in chinnar sanctuary.
  41. Ponmudi dam is in idukki.
  42. Thoovanam and Thommankuthu waterfalls are in Idukki.
  43. Vagamon famous for paragliding is in Idukki Kottayam border.
  44. Historic mangala Devi Temple is in Idukki.
  45. Mankulam Panchayat is situated in idukki.
  46. Kuthumkal project is in Idukki.
  47. Chenkulam project is at Muthirapuzha.
  48. Pallivasal project is at Muthirapuzha.
  49. 66% of electricity produced from Idukki.
  50. Periyar have most number of Hydroelectric Project.
  51. Priyar originated from Sivagiri hills.
  52. Second largest district in Kerala.
  53. Second in the number of Tribal people.
  54. Fruit basket of kerala - kanthalloor.
  55. Largest Panchayat in Kerala - Kumily.
  56. Largest Taluk in Kerala- Peermade
  57. Largest Legislative assembly in Kerala - Udumbanchola
  58. Lowest rainfall region in Kerala - Chinnar.
  59. Company produced electricity for private use - Kannan devan
  60. British Planter who brought Kanan Devan Hills - John Daniel Mandro.
  61. Village that produced electricity and distributed - Mankulam.
  62. Ramakkalmedu is famous for wind mill.
  63. Kuravan-Kurathi Sculpture is in Ramakkalmedu.
  64. Pambar flows through Idukki.
  65. Moonar - Muthirapuzha , Nallathanni, Kundala
  66. First Tribal Panchayat in Kerala - Edamalakudy .
  67. ‘Kuttampuzha’  of Idukki is now in Ernakulam District( thereby lost the biggest district status).
  68. Famous festival of Mangala Devi Temple is Chitra Pournami, Pratishta - Kannaki , built by - Cheran chenkuttavan.
  69. First Tea Museum in India - Kannan devan Tea museum.
  70. Summer resort of British Government in South India - Munar.
  71. Thekkady boat(Jalakanyaka) disaster in the year 2009
  72. Enquiry commission on Thekkady boat disaster is Justice E Moideen Kunju.
  73. Indian Cardamom Research Institute in Kerala is at Myladumpara
  74. Kerala Cardamom Research Institute- Pampadumpara.
  75. First spice park in Kerala is Puttadi.
  76. Golden Triangle of Tourism in Kerala- Idukki, Munnar, Thekkady
  77. Water from the Mullaperiyar is stored at Vaigai Dam in Tamilnadu.
  78. First Biometric Atm - Moonar.
  79. Total Solar energy village - Idamalakkudi.
  80. Lowest populated panchayat in kerala - Vattavada.
  81. Spice village - Anakara.
  82. Kozhimala - Kerala’s only tribal Kingdom.
  83. Mullaperiyar committee by Supreme court - justice Anand.
  84. Dam 999 director - Sohan Roy.
  85. Panniyar - periyar river.